Home » RDBMS Server » Server Utilities » imp / exp problem with sequence no
imp / exp problem with sequence no [message #222850] Tue, 06 March 2007 13:04 Go to next message
Mitr
Hi All:

i am a newbie and have a problem with imp and exp utility..
I exported data from a table and this table has sequence no generated on a particular column X...
i had to delete the data from this table ...i deleted and then did an import using the dump i exported earlier..it gave me a message saying imported data successfully...but seems to me like it generated new no's for the column X...so how can i suppress the sequence no and then do an import...so that i can have the old sequence no's for the column X...

thanks a lot in advacne...
Re: imp / exp problem with sequence no [message #222851 is a reply to message #222850] Tue, 06 March 2007 13:10 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank Naude
Drop the sequence before you import the data. The import will then recreate the sequence object.

Alternatively, alter the sequence to reset its "start with" value.
Re: imp / exp problem with sequence no [message #222853 is a reply to message #222851] Tue, 06 March 2007 13:19 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mitr
Thankq Frank..

I cant reset the sequence no 'cos the data i exported is not for the table...i exported the data using a where clause..so they are a bunch of rows which are not in any sequential order of the column X...
I am not the DBA of the database..so will I still be able to drop the sequence using the parfile and if so how??

thanks a lot again..
Mitr..
Re: imp / exp problem with sequence no [message #222856 is a reply to message #222853] Tue, 06 March 2007 13:25 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank Naude
Can't you "SELECT MAX(col)+1 FROM tab" and reset the sequence to that number?

Syntax is something like: ALTER SEQUENCE ... START WITH ...;

Do a "SELECT * FROM SESSION_PRIVS" to see if you have the required privs.